Uncategorized

Books Like Where the Crawdads Sing (That are Free)

Imagine that a retired zoologist wrote her first novel and become a best seller? And the book has a strange name like Where the Crawdads Sing. Well, that is what happened to Delia Owens.

The story is set in 1950's North Carolina and follows Kya, a 6-year old who's family abandons her. She fends for herself and becomes known as 'The Marsh Girl' - a lonesome stranger who has managed to conquer a solitary way of life, and womanhood. The novel jumps to the 1960's when a body of a young man is found, and Kya is the main suspect by way of finger-pointing from the local people.

The novel is steeped in local history and filled with themes of struggle, girt and determination. Very allegorical of those who inhabited the North Carolina Coast.

The Help - Catherine Stockett

Carline Stockett's masterclass novel has made it to be an extremely successful Hollywood movie.

The novel is set in the 1960s during the civil rights movement and looks at the life of an African American maid working for a white family.

The novel is hilarious at time, extremely touching and a thoughtful novel looking at the struggle and determination of those in 'service'.

You are able to listen to the help for free

51pa2cl+ElL

Gone Girl - Gillian Flynn

 

Another huge Holywood success, Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn is a book that will keep you turning pages long past your bedtime.

The novel follows Nick whose wife goes missing and Nick instantly becomes the first suspect linked to her disappearance. Although Nick claims he is innocent, a trail of evidence points in his direction... nothing is at all what it seems.

This novel perfectly look at the art of war. If you're looking for another book like Where the Crawdads Sing, with twists and turns, gone girl is your next bet.

You can find the novel for free here

 

 

51M3aQK-dGL

The Silent Patent - Alex Michaelides

Where the Crawdads Sing is a twisting, thrilling drama which masterfully reveals each plot point with masterful suspense. The Silent Patient is another gripping novel that unravels a story rich is intrigue and suspense.

The novel follows Alicia whose perfect life is shattered when her husband is shot in the head 5 times. Since then, she hasn't spoken a word. The question is why.

You can find the novel for free here

 

 

51iEr1mvtuL

It Ends With Us - Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover's It Ends with Us is a multi-award winning, highly acclaimed masterpiece, so it has been very difficult to find anything that may come up to standard.

The novel is a wild ride of a love ended, but there is so much more to come to light. The novel explores love after death in a brilliant way similar to Where the Crawdads Sing.

So, here are some books like It Ends With Us that you should think about reading.

It ends with us front cover

The Shadow of the Wind - Carlos Ruiz Zafón

As a 10-year-old, Daniel stumbles upon a library hidden in the heart of Barcelona. Within the. 'cemetery of lost books' he pulls La Sombra Del Viento by Jullian Carax.

Over the years, many people show interest in the book and one night Daniel is approached by a mysterious masked man who reminds daniel of a character in the book who turns out to be the devil. He is stalked by the stranger and learns more and more about the death of the author of the book.

You can find it free here

51Llqvk+YGL

The Shadow of the Wind - Carlos Ruiz Zafón

As a 10-year-old, Daniel stumbles upon a library hidden in the heart of Barcelona. Within the. 'cemetery of lost books' he pulls La Sombra Del Viento by Jullian Carax.

Over the years, many people show interest in the book and one night Daniel is approached by a mysterious masked man who reminds daniel of a character in the book who turns out to be the devil. He is stalked by the stranger and learns more and more about the death of the author of the book.

You can find it free here

51Llqvk+YGL

To Kill a Mocking Bird- Harper Lee

Harper Lee's classic novel, To kill a Mockingbird is certainly similar to Where the Crawdads Sing in so many ways. Both explore the themes of the strength of character, injustice and mob rule.

Harper Lees novel follows the family of a lawyer who defends a black man, wrongly convicted of murder.

The book looks at racism within the community and in law. This book changed many, many lives.

You can find it free here

51S+NORxTQL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.