Fun

Engrossing Books Like ‘Lord Of The Rings’ We Recommend

J R Tolkien's Masterpiece 'The Lord Of The Rings' is a trio of timeless classics. Yes, they are rich, dense with lore and not the easiest to follow at times, but they are within the all-time 'YOU MUST READ THIS' books.

Since the book's heyday in the 1980s, the books saw a huge revival after the 2000 Peter Jackson adaptations - which stand up as spectacular films today.

So, if you're looking for a book like Lord Of The Rings (or any of the other Tolkien works in the same universe) then you're going to need something rich with lore, out of this world and a book so big you'll struggle to carry.

Game Of Thrones - JRR Martin

We've tried to be inventive here and think of books we've read that would appeal to somebody who liked LOTR without being too obvious: Game Of Thrones being the 'Obvious'.

If you haven't already read at least one of the Game Of Thrones Novels then what are you waiting for? It is rammed with politics, violence, mystical creatures and everything you love about LOTR.

Like everybody says, the books are way better than the TV series. Get to it.

Get the whole set here

game of throwns saga

Dune - Frank Herbert

Frank Herbert's Dune has been a sci-fi classic long before even David Fincher got hold of it. While it has now been adapted into multiple films, the Dune saga is one of the most highly recommended books we can include.

The book is far too long, dense and complicated to explain here so you'll need to take our word for it.

If you're looking for an epic adventure that will last you weeks then dive into this one.

You can get the whole set here. 

Dube saga

The Midnight Children - Salman Rushdie

You may recognise the author, but potentially not the book. Salman Rushdie is particularly famous for his controversial novel The Satanic Verses.

The reason for our inclusion of Midnight's Children is down to Rushdie's writing style - while some may consider it verbose and pretentious (much like Tolkien) - you can't deny he has a talent for description and developing deep lore in his work.

The book follows the story of a boy (from Kashmir) who was born at midnight of India's independence - he learns that he has interesting powers, and there are others like him.

The themes tie together the politics and mysticism of Indian culture since the rule of rage. Well worth reading.

 

Find the book here.

Mindnights children front cover

The Witcher Saga

Of all books similar to Lord Of The Rings, the Witcher Saga is potentially the closet relative in terms of intent.

Tolkien's intention for writing the Lord of the Rings comes from the lack of English folklore. After multiple invasions, our heritage had been lost. So, Tolkien set out to write what he thought would be fitting enough for the UK to call it's own.

Andrzej Sapkowski (an interesting character to say the least) set out to do the same for Poland - with little expectations of the book's popularity. The Witcher Saga, an already popular novel in eastern Europe, was adapted into a video game and is now a multi-million dollar series on Netflix.

Seriously - one of the best books like The Lord Of the Rings that you can find.

Find the book here.

41zcRcXOvbL._SY498_BO1,204,203,200_

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.